Christopher Hanewinckel-USA TODAY Sports

Cabrera, Goldschmidt Take Hank Aaron Awards

15th year of Hank Aaron Awards: a repeat and first time winner.

Rob Grabowski-USA TODAY Sports

For the second straight year, Detroit Tigers third baseman has been selected as the winner of the American League’s Hank Aaron Award. This past season, Miggy produced a triple slash of .348/.442/.636 with 44 home runs and 137 RBI. Cabrera led all of baseball in the triple slash categories (BA, OBP, SLG). His OPS+ of 187 also led the entire MLB.

Cabrera was elected to his 8th All-Star Game and became the first Tiger to win three straight batting titles since Ty Cobb.


Paul Goldschmidt, first baseman for the Arizona Diamondbacks, owned a triple slash of .302/.401/.551 with 36 HR and 125 RBI. He led the National League in RBI and slugging and tied for the NL lead in HR (Pedro Alvarez of the Pittsburgh Pirates). His OPS+ of 160 took the NL’s top spot. This past season, Goldschmidt was selected to his first All-Star Game. This is Goldschmidt’s first Aaron Award.

Goldschmidt is presumed to challenge Pittsburgh’s Andrew McCutchen for the NL MVP Award.

The Hank Aaron Awards are voted on by fans through and a panel, led by Aaron himself, also contributes to the vote. Members of this panel were also handpicked by Aaron. This year was the fourth time a panel has been employed with the voting.

List over previous winners:

Miguel Cabrera and Buster Posey – 2012
Jose Bautista and Matt Kemp – 2011
Jose Bautista and Joey Votto – 2010
Derek Jeter and Albert Pujols – 2009
Kevin Youkilis and Aramis Ramirez – 2008
Alex Rodriguez and Prince Fielder – 2007
Derek Jeter and Ryan Howard – 2006
David Ortiz and Andruw Jones – 2005
Manny Ramirez and Barry Bonds – 2004
Alex Rodriguez and Albert Pujols – 2003
Alex Rodriguez and Barry Bonds – 2001
Alex Rodriguez and Barry Bonds – 2002
Carlos Delgado and Todd Helton – 2000
Manny Ramirez and Sammy Sosa – 1999

Tags: Miguel Cabrera Paul Goldschmidt

comments powered by Disqus