MLB Playoffs: Brewers Walk-Off Against Diamondbacks to Clinch NLCS Berth

Nine innings was not enough to contain the madness of Friday’s Brewers, Diamondbacks game five matchup.  The Diamondbacks were able to fight back late, but it was ultimately the Brewers walking off with the victory in extras.  With the win, Milwaukee punches its ticket for the National League Championship Series where it will take on the St. Louis Cardinals.

Game five featured Ian Kennedy vs. Yovani Gallardo, round two.  As the aces of their staffs, the pair faced off in game one, with Gallardo ultimately getting the better of Kennedy and the Diamondbacks.  Last night, each pitcher lasted six innings, with Gallardo giving up one run to Kennedy’s two.

Justin Upton got the scoring started in the 3rd with his solo shot off of Gallardo.  Milwaukee came back to score single runs in the 4th and 6th innings on a Jerry Hairston Jr. sacrifice fly and Yuniesky Betancourt’s RBI single.

Both teams turned to their pens in the 7th, and the scoreboard remained locked at 2-1 entering the 9th.  Brewers closer Jon Axford surrendered a leadoff double to Gerardo Parra to begin the frame, and saw the tying run move within 90 feet of the plate on Sean Burroughs single to shallow left field.

With Parra on third, Diamondbacks manager Kirk Gibson called for the safety squeeze and Willie Bloomquist delivered.  Parra scored while Bloomquist and Burroughs occupied first and second base with no outs.  Even so, Arizona was unable to crack the lead, as Axford recovered to sit down the next three batters and end the inning.

After David Hernandez worked a scoreless bottom of the 9th for Arizona, Axford came out to retire the side in order in the 10th.

Diamondbacks closer J.J. Putz entered in the bottom of the frame.  After recording the first out, Putz gave up a single to speedster Carlos Gomez, who proceeded to swipe second base.  The steal allowed Gomez to score the game’s winning run on Nyjer Morgan’s single to center.

With the victory, the Brewers have advanced to their first NLCS since 1982.  Milwaukee will face off against the St. Louis Cardinals, who also clinched a second round berth Friday night.

For more on the Brewers and Diamondbacks, be sure to check out Reviewing the Brew and Venom Strikes.

Tags: Arizona Diamondbacks Carlos Gomez David Hernandez Gerardo Parra Ian Kennedy J.J. Putz Jerry Hairston Jr. John Axford Justin Upton Milwaukee Brewers Nyjer Morgan Sean Burroughs Willie Bloomquist Yovani Gallardo Yuniesky Betancourt

comments powered by Disqus