2011 National League Silver Slugger Awards

Major League Baseball announced its 2011 Silver Slugger Awards last night.  The honor is given to the best offensive player at each position.  The Silver Slugger Awards are voted on by coaches and managers from the American and National Leagues.  Let’s take a look at which NL players won the award.

C – Brian McCann – Braves

1B – Prince Fielder – Brewers

2B – Brandon Phillips – Reds

SS – Troy Tulowitzki – Rockies

3B – Aramis Ramirez – Cubs

OF – Ryan Braun – Brewers

OF – Matt Kemp – Dodgers

OF – Justin Upton – Diamondbacks

P – Daniel Hudson – Diamondbacks

One thing that jumps out to me about this list is the fact that neither the best team in baseball record-wise nor the World Series champs are represented.  While the Phillies or Cardinals don’t have any 2011 Silver Sluggers, two other playoff teams have a pair of players on the list.

Milwaukee’s dynamic duo of Prince Fielder and Ryan Braun won their second and fourth Silver Slugger Awards.  For Braun, it was the fourth year in a row he’s been honored by the voters.

The Arizona Diamondbacks also had two of their guys make the cut, as Justin Upton and Daniel Hudson each won awards for the first time.

Brandon Phillips and Aramis Ramirez were also first time winners, while Matt Kemp and Troy Tulowitzki won their second Silver Sluggers.

Though slowed by injuries for part of the 2011 season, Brian McCann remained a stable force in the NL.  The backstop collected his fourth consecutive Silver Slugger yesterday, his fifth in the last six seasons.

Tags: Aramis Ramirez Brandon Phillips Brian McCann Daniel Hudson Justin Upton Major League Baseball Matt Kemp Prince Fielder Ryan Braun Silver Slugger Awards Troy Tulowitzki

comments powered by Disqus