John Hirschbeck will be the crew chief for the 2013 World Series. (Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports)

MLB Announces Umpires for World Series

Those that will be making the calls for the World Series have been announced. The six-man crew brings at least 125 years of experience to the Fall Classic. Here’s a little info about each of the six.

John Hirschbeck, crew chief – Hirschbeck holds the most service time among those on this crew. This will be his fourth World Series and served as the crew chief for the 2010 World Series. Hirschbeck also has served as an umpire for two All-Star Games, eight league division series and four league championship series.

When Mariano Rivera broke the all-time saves record, it was Hirschbeck behind the plate.

Dana DeMuth – DeMuth is right behind Hirschbeck in service time by only a half a year. To his credit are three All-Star Games, eight league division series and five league championship series. This will be DeMuth’s fifth World Series.

Served in the crew that worked the WBC’s Tokyo round in 2009.

Jim Joyce – Like DeMuth, Joyce has had the honor of working three All-Star Games. He has been on a crew for nine LDS and four LCS. Joyce is making his third World Series crew.

We all know what Joyce is most know for: the Armando Galarraga near-prefect game.

Paul Emmel – An All-Star Game, seven LDS and the 2007 ALCS are on Emmel’s resume’. This will be his first time making the World Series crew.

Emmel also worked the semi-finals and finals of the 2009 World Baseball Classic.

Bill Miller – Miller worked the 2012 AL Wild Card game. He has been on a crew for five LDS, three LCS and one All-Star Game. Miller’s inclusion on this crew will mark his second World Series.

A part of two WBCs: 2009 in San Diego and 2013 in San Francisco.

Mark Wegner – Six LDS crews, one LCS and one All-Star Game are credited to Wegner. He was a part of the crew that worked the Miami round of the 2009 WBC.

If you so desire, you can check out these umpire stats for the 2013 season at

Tags: 2013 World Series MLB Playoffs

comments powered by Disqus