Jeff Curry-USA TODAY Sports

Expansion Era Hall of Fame Ballot Announced

Ballot composed of six players, four managers and two executives

The Baseball Hall of Fame released the names of twelve individuals that will comprise the Expansion Era ballot for election into its hallowed halls.

A 16-member voting body will cast their voted during baseball’s winter meetings. Those meeting the 75% vote requirement will be part of the Hall of Fame Class of 2014. The announcement will be on Monday, December 9 at 10 a.m. ET from the Winter Meetings in Orlando, Fla.

For those not familiar with the Expansion Era ballot, the ballot was created by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America (BBWAA)-appointed Historical Overview Committee. They view candidates among managers, umpires, executives and long-retired players, whose most significant career impact was realized from 1973 through the present.

The process of examining eligible candidates is as follows:

– Players appearing in at least 10 consecutive major league seasons and not on Major League Baseball’s ineligible list. They must also have been retired for 21 or more seasons, or their last playing appearance was no later than 1992.
– Managers and umpires with 10 or more years in baseball and retired for at least five years. Candidates among managers and umpires who are 65 years or older are eligible six months from the date of the election following retirement.
– Executives must have served 10 consecutive years in baseball and retired for at least five years. Active executives aged 65 years or older are eligible for consideration as well.

The twelve:

Long-retired players:
Dave Concepcion: played 19 seasons as a member of the Cincinnati Reds; won five Gold Gloves and two Silver Sluggers; selected to nine All-Sta Games, including eight consecutive ASG’s; won two World Series Championships.
Steve Garvey: played 19 seasons as a member of the Los Angeles Dodgers (14) and San Diego Padres (5); NL MVP in 1974; ten All-Star appearances including eight straight; two-time ASG MVP (’74, ’78); two-time NLCS MVP (’78, ’84); won four Gold Gloves.
Tommy John: now known more for the surgical procedure than his days as a pitcher; pitched in 26 seasons for six different teams; selected the four All-Star Games; posted career record of 288-231 with 164 of those wins coming after the surgery.
Dave Parker: “The Cobra” played in 19 seasons with six different clubs; won NL MVP in 1978; selected to seven All-Star Games; won ASG MVP in 1979; won three Gold Gloves and three Silver Sluggers.
Dan Quisenberry: “Quiz” pitched for three different teams for a total of 12 seasons; selected the three All-Star Games; led AL in saves five times; led MLB in saves twice.
Ted Simmons: “Simba” played for 21 seasons as a member of three different teams; eight All-Star Game selections and one Silver Slugger.

Bobby Cox: managed for 29 seasons for two different clubs; accumulated record of 2,504-2,001 (.556); won five NL pennants and one World Series
Tony LaRussa: managed for 34 seasons with three different teams; compiled record of 2,728-2,365 (.536); won three AL pennants, three NL pennants and three World Series.
Billy Martin: managed in part of 16 seasons for five different teams; career managerial record of 1,253-1,013 (.553); won two AL pennants and one World Series
Joe Torre: managed for 29 seasons for five different organizations; posted career record of 2,326-1,997 (.538); won six AL pennants and 4 World Series

– Marvin Miller: served as the executive director for the Major League Baseball Players Association from 1966-82; aided in increase the minimum salary by more than 25 percent; won the right for the players to seek arbitration to resolve contract dispute; led union in test of reserve clause through arbitration in 1975; won free agency for players; upon retirement in 1982, average player salary being $241,497.
– George Steinbrenner: Principal owner of the Yankees (1973-2010); 37 full seasons as owner, team compiled .565 winning percentage (3,308-2,551-3); won 11 AL pennants and seven World Series.

Learn even more about the nominees here:

Tags: Baseball Hall Of Fame

comments powered by Disqus