Myers was presented the Baseball Writers Association of America Award for rookie of the year for the Tampa Bay Rays. (Kim Klement-USA TODAY Sports))

BBWAA to Reveal Rookie of the Year Winners Tonight

The Rookie of the Year Awards start BBWAA award announcements.

The first in the line of the BBWAA Awards will be handed out this evening. The Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year Awards for the American and National Leagues start the announcements. MLB Network will air the announcement at 6 PM ET this evening.

Here’s a quick primer for the final three in each league.

American League

Chris Archer, pitcher, Tampa Bay Rays
Archer’s 9 wins placed him behind only Oakland’s Dan Straily and Texas’ Martin Perez in wins (10). His 3.22 ERA was best among AL rookie starters. He hurled two complete games and also ranked second among AL rookie pitchers in strikeouts (101) and innings pitched (128.2).

Jose Iglesias, shortstop, Detroit Tigers
A trade deadline deal sent Igelsias from Boston to Detroit. His .303 BA was tops among all AL rookies, even though Iglesias received more accolades for his defense. Who could forget this…

The last Tiger to receive a ROY nod was Justin Verlander (’06).

Wil Myers, outfield, Tampa Bay Rays
Myers’ triple slash and AL rookie ranks are: .293 (2nd)/.354 (1st)/.478 (1st). His OPS of .831 was also the AL rookies best. He tied for 2nd in HR (13, Conor Gillaspie of the Chicago White Sox) and first in RBI (53) among AL rookies as well.

National League

Jose Fernandez, pitcher, Miami Marlins
Fernandez led all rookie pitchers in strikeouts (187) and all rookie starters in ERA (2.19). That 2.19 also ranked second overall in the NL (Clayton Kershaw – 1.83). Among all NL Starters, Fernandez was tops in H/9 (5.786), second in SO/9 (9.747), and third in WHIP (0.979).

Fernandez would be the fourth Marlins player to win, following Dontrelle Willis (2003), Hanley Ramirez (’06) and Chris Coghlan (’09).

Shelby Miller, pitcher, St. Louis Cardinals
Miller led all NL rookie pitchers in wins (15) and was second in games started (31). His 3.06 ERA was fourth among qualified rookie starters. The 169 strikeouts was third and 173 1/3 innings pitched ranked fourth among that same group.

Who was the last Cardinal to win? That would be Todd Worrell in 1986. Vince Coleman won it the previous season.

Yasiel Puig, outfield, Los Angeles Dodgers
Among all NL rookies that played in at least 100 games, Puig had the highest OBP (.391), SLG (.534), and OPS (.925). His 11 steals was third among all NL rookies.

The last Dodgers player to win the award was Todd Hollandsworth in 1996, which was the last of five consecutive ROY’s the Dodgers produced.

comments powered by Disqus