MLB hall of fame president Jeff Idelson (Don McPeak-USA Today Sports)

CTTP's Baseball Hall of Fame Voting Results

On Wednesday, the Baseball Hall of Fame will announce its Class of 2014. This year, I’m sure we can all agree that at least one player will be elected. Doesn’t make up for being shutout last year though.

A few weeks back, I presented the staff with a ballot, and there were a total of 13 ballots submitted. If we were to adhere to the 75% rule the BBWAA has in place, a player would need 10 votes. With this in mind, CTTP would have five players from this deep ballot being enshrined.

The five: Greg Maddux (unanimous), Mike Piazza (12), Craig Biggio (11), Tom Glavine (11), and Frank Thomas (11).

Just missing: Tim Raines (9) and Edgar Martinez (8).

Others receiving votes: Jeff Bagwell, Barry Bonds, Roger Clemens, Curt Schilling and Alan Trammell all received 6 votes; Jeff Kent, Jack Morris and Mike Mussina each received 4 votes; Don Mattingly received 3 votes; Fred McGriff, Mark McGwire, Lee Smith and Larry Walker each received 1 vote.

You will see a post or two from the staff stating reasons why certain players should or should not be elected. In fact, staff writer Michael McFarlane has already opined on why he believes one deserves the nod.

Yes, there’s going to be the back-and-forth on a couple of these names…at least. There has already been those ballot submissions and explanations with said ballot that have raised an eyebrow and ire. Or one voter attempting to rationalize anything.

Then there’s the one HoF vote which was sold to Deadspin.

Tags: Baseball Hall Of Fame Voting MLB

comments powered by Disqus