Australian Baseball League 1/10/14


It’s been Friday all over the world for a while now. Don’t hesitate to enjoy it. Time to kick off those work shoes and catch a bit of summer baseball on the telly. It isn’t good for the psyche to keep watching that yule log video waiting for the sun to come back. Christmas is over. Spring is actually on the way. Seriously. Put down your snow shovel and look up the tracking number.

Even if you can’t stay up late for the action this evening, Australian baseball is just a click away. Listen to the latest episode of Strike Zone hosted by Chris Coleman of ABC Radio and the Canberra Cavalry broadcast team.

ABL Scoreboard: January 10

Canberra Cavalry put six runs on the board in the first inning, added 4 more along the way and held the Sydney Blue Sox scoreless while scattering 3 hits in a 10-0 romp at Blacktown. Cavs shortstop Casey Frawley was just a triple shy of recording his second cycle of the season.

Box Score / Recap / Cavalry by Stephanie Godlewski / Blue Sox by Kate Orme

It was a close game at Norwood Oval until the 8th inning when the Melbourne Aces took out an additional 4 runs of insurance. The Adelaide Bite kept a big crowd in the stands by scoring in the last two frames, but it was all for naught. Aces evened the series with a 7-3 victory.

Box Score / Recap / Aces by Nick Green / Bite by Sam Finn

When the Brisbane Bandits struck the first blow with a run in the 3rd inning, there was hope. When the Perth Heat answered with 6 runs while allowing only a pair of harmless singles in the 7th inning, that hope faded away. Heat stayed hot at Barbagallo while blistering the Bandits 6-1.

Box Score / Recap / Bandits by Benjamin Scott / Heat by Staff

ABL Action: January 11

Canberra Cavalry lead the Sydney Blue Sox by a margin of 5 games to 4 in the battle for the Hume Highway Cup. Game starts at 11:00 p.m. PST on the 10th or 2:00 a.m. EST on the 11th.

Adelaide Bite and Melbourne Aces continue their quest for a spot in the playoffs in what could turn out to be a rubber match at Norwood Oval. Game starts at 12:30 a.m. PST or 3:30 a.m. EST.

Brisbane Bandits have a chance to make the long ride home more pleasant by taking at least a game from the league leading Perth Heat. Game starts at 3:20 a.m. PST or 6:20 a.m. EST.

Streams for the games can be found at the Australian Baseball League website. Click on the tab that says “Watch Live” and the week will melt away.

Tags: Australian Baseball League