Australian Baseball League: 1/15/14

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

As the snow continues to linger in baseball towns across the northern climes, there is a vast cold emptiness in the hearts of fans that can only be filled with live action. Fortunately, everyone can enjoy the greatest game in the world under sunny skies thanks to the miracle of the internet. If you are in desperate need of horsehide and hickory, this weekend promises to be a dandy.

The Australian Baseball League playoff race is an incredibly crowded affair going into the twelfth round of games. One team is clearly ahead in first place. One team is clearly behind in last place. Three teams are tied for second place. One team might sneak back into the picture. Every pitch counts going down the stretch and the stars are lining up for a wild finish to the regular season.

ABL Action: January 16

After an exciting, but ultimately disappointing final series of the Hume Highway Cup, the Canberra Cavalry must keep their heads up and continue to fight for a spot. Returning down that familiar road to The Fort may be of some small comfort, but the Cavs face a huge challenge. The next quartet of contests is against the league leading Perth Heat. Game one starts at 12:00 a.m. PST or 3:00 a.m. EST.

Norwood Oval will host a four game set between the Adelaide Bite and the Sydney Blue Sox. Both teams are currently at 19-19 and looking to string a few good wins together for separation. Although a series split might not hurt either team in the short term, neither wants to gamble that maintaining a .500 record will lead to a postseason berth. Game one starts at 12:30 a.m. PST or 3:30 a.m. EST.

Having not won a road series in a growing mountain of fortnights, the Melbourne Aces are very glad to be home. While the Aces could still climb into contention, the Brisbane Bandits are looking to play spoiler and would like nothing more than to pound nails into the coffins of other teams still in the hunt. Game one starts 12:35 a.m. PST or 3:35 a.m. EST.

Streams for the games can be found at the Australian Baseball League website. Click on the tab that says “Watch Live” and lose yourself in green diamonds.

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

Tags: Australian Baseball League

comments powered by Disqus