Australian Baseball League 1/16/14

There is a fog outside that is thick enough to use for gravy. If the temperature dips much more it will likely turn this community into a skating rink by morning. It could be downright depressing to think of this winter thing continuing much longer, but baseball is being played tonight on a warm evening in Australia. Hard to get the blues when there are games under blue skies.

ABL Scoreboard: 1/16

Boss Moanaroa turned on the first pitch he saw this year and presented it as a gift to the full moon above Norwood Oval. The offense caught fire as the Sydney Blue Sox defeated the Adelaide Bite 8-1 to take the first game of a four game set.

Box Score / Recap / Game Story by Tyler Maun

The Canberra Cavalry came to The Fort hungry for a win, but only enjoyed one plate of home cooking. The ABL leading Perth Heat continued their dominance taking the opening match at Narrabundah Ballpark by a 3-1 margin.

Box Score / Recap / Game Story by Tyler Maun

The stagecoach carrying the playoff aspirations of the Melbourne Aces was held up by the Brisbane Bandits last night. They tied up the driver and made off with a 6-4 victory in the series opener at Melbourne Ballpark.

Box Score / Recap / Game Story by Tyler Maun

ABL Action: 1/17

The Perth Heat would be delighted to clinch a playoff berth tonight against the defending champions in their own house. The Canberra Cavalry would much rather rattle off three straight wins at The Fort and gain momentum down the stretch. Game two begins at 12:00 a.m. PST or 3:00 a.m. EST.

The Adelaide Bite and Sydney Blue Sox continue to battle for playoff position at Norwood Oval. For the Bite, this series at home might be their best chance to gain ground in the hunt, but the Blue Sox have already broken their broom handles. Game two begins at 12:30 a.m. PST or 3:30 a.m. EST.

The Brisbane Bandits are not going gentle into that good night and are more than happy to spoil the dreams of contenders. The Melbourne Aces could turn the series around, but need a win tonight to make that possible. Game two begins at 12:35 a.m. PST or 3:35 a.m. EST.

Streams for the games can be found at the Australian Baseball League website. Click on the tab that says “Watch Live” and enjoy the race for the postseason.

Tags: Australian Baseball League

comments powered by Disqus