Australian Baseball League: 1/18/14

It could turn out to be a bittersweet day for fans in three ABL cities as the last home stands of the regular season draw to a close at Norwood Oval, Melbourne Ballpark and The Fort. For those who’ve enjoyed the live streams around the world, it might be the final contest of the campaign for broadcast crews that have been a lifeline to sunshine and blue skies for scores of people dealing with snow and ice.

ABL Scoreboard: January 18

With a dramatic backdrop of dark storm clouds and bright flashes of lightning, the Canberra Cavalry conjured up some of their unique baseball magic and rallied late to beat the Perth Heat 5-4 at The Fort. The exciting win over the Heat carried the Cavs into a three way tie for third place.

Box Score / Recap / Game Story by Tyler Maun

The Sydney Blue Sox broke a tie in the standings with the Adelaide Bite with a 4-0 shutout at Norwood Oval. A modern Down Under incarnation of the “Go-Go Sox” stole 4 bases in the game while 4 solid Sydney pitchers scattered 4 harmless hits. The Sox are now alone in second place.

Box Score / Recap / Game Story by Tyler Maun

Jared Schlehuber put the home team on the board early with a first inning dinger, but it was the second consecutive night of late inning long ball heroics from Brad Harman that sealed the win. Melbourne Aces steal one back from the Brisbane Bandits with a 5-3 victory and are tied with the Cavs and Bite in third.

Box Score / Recap / Game Story by Tyler Maun

ABL Action: January 19

The concluding game of this final home stand against the Perth Heat could be the final time favorites like Jack Murphy put on the Canberra Cavalry uniform for a game at The Fort. Fans are no doubt hoping that this storybook team will write more chapters. Game begins on the 18th at  5 p.m. PST or 8 p.m. EST.

The Adelaide Bite have one last contest at Norwood Oval in the regular season and a win will keep them in the playoff race. The Sydney Blue Sox are liking their chances if they can hold on to second place all by their lonesome. Game begins on the 18th at 6:30 p.m. PST or 9:30 p.m. EST.

A spoiler role is all the Brisbane Bandits have left, but they could make skies ahead more turbulent for the Melbourne Aces with a victory tonight. The Aces would like nothing more than to win big in front of the faithful at Melbourne Ballpark. Game begins on the 18th at 7:05 p.m. PST or 10:05 p.m. EST.

Streams for the games can be found at the Australian Baseball League website. Click on the tab that says “Watch Live” and enjoy an evening of games in January.

Tags: Australian Baseball League

comments powered by Disqus