Australian Baseball League 1/22/14


While your mittens and boots have been drying out in the mudroom, it’s been a record breaking summer in Australia. Thermometers have been pushed to the breaking point. If Mother Nature doesn’t hang a lot of wet wash on the line this weekend, it will be the first season in memory that was not made a game or two shorter for some clubs because of rain.

It’s the last series of the regular season with only one team truly out of the hunt. Others will need varying degrees of miracles and good luck to find themselves in the top three. The Perth Heat are definitely hosting the ABLCS, but their playoff opponents will be determined over the next few days. Round 13 promises to be an exciting finish to a great campaign.

ABL Action: January 23

The Brisbane Bandits will close out their season at Holloway Field against the Canberra Cavalry. For the Cavs to keep themselves in the playoff hunt, they will need to bring brooms. It is going to take a clean sweep to keep on defending the Claxton Shield. Game one starts at 12:30 a.m. PST or 3:30 a.m. EST.

It’s essentially a playoff series at Blacktown. The Sydney Blue Sox and Melbourne Aces both have their post-season aspirations balanced on the results of this last four game set. A split could make things very interesting depending on the final records of other clubs. Game one starts at 12:30 a.m. PST or 3:30 a.m. EST.

While the Perth Heat have buttoned up their role in the playoffs, the Adelaide Bite are still in the thick of the fight. It promises to be quite a battle for the final playoff spots and this final regular season series at Barbagallo Ballpark will be no exception. Game one starts at 3:20 a.m. PST or 6:20 a.m. EST.

Streams for the games can be found at the Australian Baseball League website. Click on the tab that says “Watch Live” and enjoy some live ball on a chilly night.

Tags: Australian Baseball League