2014 MLB Hall of Fame Inductees: Tony La Russa, Joe Torre, Bobby Cox

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

Dec 9, 2013; Orlando, FL, USA; Newly-inducted Baseball Hall of Fame managers Tony La Russa, Joe Torre and Bobby Cox (l-r) pose for a photo during the MLB Winter Meetings at Walt Disney World Swan and Dolphin. Mandatory Credit: David Manning-USA TODAY Sports

On Sunday six new members will be inducted into the National Baseball Hall of Fame in Cooperstown, NY. Three of them are being inducted for their accomplishments during their playing careers: pitchers Greg Maddux and Tom Glavine, along with one of the game’s most prominent hitters, Frank Thomas. The three managers that will be joining them are arguably three of the best managers of all-time and certainly of their generation.

Collectively, Tony La Russa, Joe Torre and Bobby Cox have won a total of eight World Series titles and ten Manager of the Year Awards. They are third, fourth and fifth on the all-time managerial wins list with La Russa in third, Cox in fourth and Torre in the fifth spot behind legendary managers Connie Mack and John McGraw who also hold places in baseball’s Hall of Fame.

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

comments powered by Disqus