BBA Stan Musial Ballot


Call to the Pen is a member site of the Baseball Bloggers Alliance. As such, we have the duty each year to cast our ballot in several postseason award categories. Similar to the BBWAA, the BBA is broken into chapters, with each chapter receiving a maximum of two votes per award. The votes will be tallied and the BBA will announce the winners via press release, and they will also be listed on the BBA homepage.

As was the case with our ballots for previous awards posted last week, we polled the staff here and our official ballot for the Stan Musial Award, honoring the player who provided the most value to his club in each league, appears after the jump.

Because we have many members on the staff here at CttP, writers were polled and the order listed was a result of votes tallied, based on a 13-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 scale. Below is our list with vote totals, first place votes in parentheses.

American League

  1. Josh Hamilton, Texas Rangers 65 points (3 first place votes)
  2. Miguel Cabrera, Detroit Tigers 50 (1)
  3. Carl Crawford, Tampa Bay Rays 31 (1)
  4. Robinson Cano, New York Yankees 30
  5. Adrian Beltre, Boston Red Sox 29
  6. Paul Konerko, Chicago White Sox 25
  7. Evan Longoria, Tampa Bay Rays 23
  8. Cliff Lee, Seattle Mariners/Texas Rangers 20 (1)
  9. Jose Bautista, Toronto Blue Jays 17
  10. Joe Mauer, Minnesota Twins 16

National League

  1. Joey Votto, Cincinnati Reds 69 (4)
  2. Albert Pujols, St. Louis Cardinals 45
  3. Carlos Gonzalez, Colorado Rockies 42 (2)
  4. Troy Tulowitzki, Colorado Rockies 36
  5. Matt Holliday, St. Louis Cardinals 27
  6. Ryan Zimmerman, Washington Nationals 24
  7. Aubrey Huff, San Francisco Giants 19
  8. Rickie Weeks, Milwaukee Brewers 13
  9. Roy Halladay, Philadelphia Phillies 12
  10. Jay Bruce, Cincinnati Reds 9