FanSided’s NL Manager of the Year: Kirk Gibson


We’re kicking off our yearly award presentations by sharing FanSided’s National League manager of the year.  Kirk Gibson, skipper of the surprise Arizona Diamondbacks, was the overwhelming favorite.  Keep reading to see who else received votes for the 2011 NL Manager of the Year.

While the Senior Circuit put forth several solid clubs in 2011, none were able to play over their heads more than the Arizona Diamondbacks.  After bringing up the rear in the NL West over the past two seasons, the Diamondbacks erupted onto the scene in 2011.  Behind budding stars Justin Upton and Ian Kennedy, Arizona pulled off a record of 94-68, claiming their first NL West crown since 2007.

Gibson, in his first year at the helm, has led a group of players expected by some to again finish in the West’s basement to the playoffs.  After dropping the first two games to the favored Milwaukee Brewers, Gibson and the Diamondbacks fought back to even the series and force a deciding game five.

His club’s performance coupled with their preseason expectations made Gibson a popular selection.  The top three vote-getters behind Gibson have each also led their teams to the 2011 postseason.  Ron Roenicke of the Brewers garnered the second most votes, while Phillies manager Charlie Manuel finished third.

Here’s a complete list of NL managers receiving votes and their totals.

The way the voting is tallied is as follows:  first place votes – 5 points, second place votes – 3 points, third place votes – 1 point.

1. Kirk Gibson – Arizona Diamondbacks (107)

2. Ron Roenicke – Milwaukee Brewers (43)

3. Charlie Manuel – Philadelphia Phillies (22)

4. Tony La Russa – St. Louis Cardinals (9)

5. Clint Hurdle – Pittsburgh Pirates (8)

6. Don Mattingly – LA Dodgers (6)

7. Freddi Gonzalez – Atlanta Braves (4)

8. Bruce Bochy – San Francisco Giants (3)

9. Davey Johnson – Washington Nationals (3)

10. Terry Collins – New York Mets (1)