Baseball Hall of Fame: IBWAA elects Johnson, Martinez, Smoltz, Bagwell, Raines


Separate from the BBWAA, the IBWAA (Internet Baseball Writer’s Association of America) has been conducting their own Baseball Hall of Fame voting since it’s inception in 2009. The group continues to grow, now including more than 300 active members including some of the more prominent names in the online baseball writing community.

The IBWAA has seen their share of differences to the BBWAA’s voting in recent years. Craig Biggio (2014) and Mike Piazza (2013) have both already been elected into the Hall of Fame. Barry Larkin has not yet exceeded the 75% percent threshold needed to get in.

In 2015, the IBWAA election has selected Randy Johnson (95.15% of ballots), Pedro Martinez (95.15%), John Smoltz (82.82%), Jeff Bagwell (81.94%) and Tim Raines (79.30%).

Curt Schilling finished sixth in voting with 65.64%. Larkin and Mike Mussina garnered 64.32%. Roger Clemens was named on 64.76% and Barry Bonds on 63.44%, both increases from 2014.

Johnson, Martinez, and Smoltz were all appearing on the ballot for the first time this year. Gary Sheffield (32.60%), Nomar Garciaparra (7.49%), and Carlos Delgado (7.05%) were other notable first-time eligible players.

Bagwell spent his whole career with the Houston Astros after the team acquired him from the Boston Red Sox in one of the game’s most lopsided trades. The quirky-stanced first baseman mashed 449 home runs in his 15 year career, batting .297/.408/.540 in almost 9,500 plate appearances. He was the NL Rookie of the Year in 1991 and won the MVP in 1994, with 39 home runs and 116 RBI despite the strike-shortened season.

Raines, of course, has been widely discussed in recent years with the advanced understanding of statistics and the value tied to a player’s role with their team. Had it not been for Rickey Henderson, Raines might already be enshrined in the Hall of Fame but he will always be viewed as the second-best of his generation in a lot of ways.

Raines spent 23 years in the major leagues, hitting .294/.385/.425 and stole a staggering 808 stolen bases, leading the league four times from 1981-1984.

Next: Randy Johnson's six best seasons