Chicago Cubs’ Kris Bryant wins NL Rookie of the Year


After well over a year of hype, minor league domination and video game numbers in spring training, Chicago Cubs’ third baseman Kris Bryant is awarded the National League Rookie of the Year award.

Bryant was the unanimous winner of the award, becoming the first Cub to capture the honor since catcher Geovany Soto did in 2008. The 23-year old took the MLB by storm, emerging with 26 HR, 99 RBI and a .275/.369/.488 triple slash. Bryant led all rookies in RBI, on-base percentage and slugging percentage, and played a large role helping the Cubs to a 97 win season and a National League Championship Series appearance.

Bryant won the award over fellow finalists Matt Duffy and Jung-Ho Kang of the San Francisco Giants and Pittsburgh Pirates respectively. Duffy led NL rookies in batting average at .295, and filled the void left by Pablo Sandoval very nicely in San Francisco. Kang posted 15 HR, 58 RBI and a .287 batting average in his first stateside season after previously playing in his native South Korea.

The award for Bryant looks to be the first of many, as the former No. 2 overall draft pick amassed a very impressive rookie season, and is a member of a young core in Chicago that is poised to compete for years to come. Bryant figures to be a middle of the order producer in those lineups, and has a ceiling of a 40+ HR, 120+RBI, .315-.330 batting average, looking to be a perennial All-Star and MVP candidate.

The third baseman becomes the sixth Cub in franchise history to win the honor, and becomes the first unanimous winner in the National League since Craig Kimbrel won unanimously in 2011 with the Atlanta Braves.

The Manager of the Year awards for both leagues will be handed out tomorrow at 6 p.m. EST, followed by the Cy Young awards on Wednesday evening, and the Most Valuable Player awards on Thursday evening.