World Series: Eight Teams That Have Never Won

Next2 of 9Prev
Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

Ron Chenoy-USA TODAY Sports

Colorado Rockies

The city of Denver was awarded a Major League Baseball franchise in 1991 and began play in 1993 as the Colorado Rockies.

Since that time, not only have the Rockies not won a World Series crown, but they are also one of only two teams to not even win a division championship, sharing that distinction with their 1993 expansion brethren, the Florida/Miami Marlins

The “Blake Street Bombers” have, however, reached the MLB postseason on three occasions. They were a National League Wild Card team in the 1995, 2007 and 2009 seasons.

In 1995, the Rox dropped a four-game NLDS to the eventual world champion Atlanta Braves. In 2009, the Rockies dropped a tough four-game NLDS to the defending world champion Philadelphia Phillies, the last three games all decided by one run.

But it was in the 2007 season that the Rockies came the closest to snapping their World Series drought.

That season, Colorado won 14 of their final 15 regular season games, culminating in a thrilling 13-inning walk-off 9-8 playoff victory over the San Diego Padres to earn one of the NL Wild Card berths.

The Rockies then swept the Phillies in three straight games in the NLDS and defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks in four games to capture their only National League pennant.

Advancing to the Fall Classic for the only time in franchise history, the Rockies were mowed down by the Boston Red Sox in four straight games.

Next2 of 9Prev
Use your ← → (arrows) to browse
Load Comments