Home Run Derby bracket released: Who wins it all?

MIAMI, FL - JULY 27 (Photo by Rob Foldy/Getty Images)
MIAMI, FL - JULY 27 (Photo by Rob Foldy/Getty Images) /
1 of 6
MIAMI, FL – JULY 27 (Photo by Rob Foldy/Getty Images)
MIAMI, FL – JULY 27 (Photo by Rob Foldy/Getty Images) /

With the All-Star break nearing, MLB fans look forward to one of the greatest festivities in baseball, the Home Run Derby.

We’re just three days away from the MLB All-Star break, which begins Monday, June 10. This season the game’s stars head to South Beach and play in Miami. On Monday, the Home Run Derby takes place. MLB released the Home Run Derby bracket on Wednesday.

The 2017 Home Run Derby features seven first-timers and the defending Home Run Derby champion Giancarlo Stanton.

Last season in San Diego, Stanton defeated Todd Frazier (2015’s Home Run Derby champion) in the championship round to take the trophy. En route to victory, Stanton hit a record-breaking 61 home runs.

Stanton looks to take home the crown again in 2017 at his home park, Marlins Park. The only other MLB stars to win the Home Run Derby in back-to-back seasons are Ken Griffey Jr. and Yoenis Cespedes.

However, Stanton won’t have an easy shot at winning again this year. His competition includes the Yankees’ Gary Sanchez and Aaron Judge, the Twins’ Miguel Sano, the Royals’ Mike Moustakas, the Rockies’ Charlie Blackmon, the Dodgers’ Cody Bellinger and Stanton’s Marlins teammate Justin Bour.

This year’s Home Run Derby offers a view at some of the game’s best young players. Seven out of the eight participants are younger than 30 years old. Judge and Bellinger are in their rookie seasons. Can anyone beat Stanton’s 61 home runs? Can anyone take away his crown?

Let’s break down the Home Run Derby bracket and predict who wins it all in 2017.