MLB Milestones: deGrom joins shortlist of pitchers to win consecutive Cy Young awards

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

(Photo by Rich Schultz/Getty Images)

New York Mets ace Jacob deGrom became the 11th pitcher ever to win consecutive Cy Young awards. Let’s take a look at who else accomplished this feat.

When New York Mets ace Jacob deGrom won his second consecutive Cy Young Award on Wednesday, no one was surprised. Once thought of as third in line behind Matt Harvey and Noah Syndergaard in the Mets rotation, not only has deGrom established himself as by far the team’s best starter, he’s cemented himself as one of baseball’s best pitchers.

After a, somewhat, rocky start to the 2019 MLB season, deGrom settled in rather nicely, going 7-1 with a 1.44 after the All-Star Game.

In all, according to FanGraphs, deGrom (7.0 fWAR) was by far the best pitcher in the National League and a close second behind Gerrit Cole (7.4 fWAR) in all of MLB. His ERA (2.43) was the second-lowest in the game behind Hyun-Jin Ryu (2.32), and his FIP (2.67) fell behind only Max Scherzer (2.45) and the aforementioned Cole (2.64).

In winning two consecutive Cy Young Awards, the New York Mets ace has placed himself in a shortlist of just 11 pitchers all-time to ever win consecutive Cy Young Awards, which brings us here today.

Let’s take a look at the other starters to ever accomplish this.

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse
Load Comments