Sometimes when tensions are high and people get heated it makes sense to take 24 hours to evaluate the situation. Well, it has been 24 hours since Lance Lynn was ejected from Wednesday’s game between his Chicago White Sox and the Oakland Athletics. It remains clear he was in the wrong.
The situation was a bizarre one because Lynn got ejected during a foreign substance check. At first, that was obviously something to discuss. But it turned out he threw his belt at the umpire in what was an immature act.
Lynn can’t see why he was wrong
This whole situation was silly and avoidable. Luckily for the White Sox, they were able to hold on for a 3-2 victory after Lynn was tossed following four innings of work. The other odd thing here is Lynn not seeing why this was the wrong thing to do.
It is no surprise that an MLB pitcher isn’t exactly best buddies with an umpire. But this was something obviously going to get him tossed from the game. Showing up after and not realizing what went wrong is something you would expect to see in high school baseball.
Now this article is not being written for pearl-clutching purposes. Ultimately, getting tossed for throwing a belt is a bit funny. But this is something to keep in mind because if Lynn reacts like this in a postseason game, when checks will be even more talked about, he could really hurt his team.
The White Sox won, Lynn didn’t use a foreign substance, and everyone moved on. Managers may just point out to their own pitchers to deal with the checks for now, especially with October approaching. Yet we should point out it is silly for belts to be taken off in the first place.